Lessons in Roller Derby

20130129-224908.jpg
Surprise, surprise. A post that has practically nothing to do with Filofax. I say practically, because I have a hunch I will throw something in somewhere. Lol
Anywho… I’ve toyed with the idea of posting updates on how my Roller Derby adventure goes… And I decided to just jump right in. I’ve chosen Tuesdays for my weekly Derby updates, because practice/boot camp is on Mondays. So, I’ll get most of Tuesday to relax, recoup, and reflect. πŸ™‚

This past Monday was only my second visit. And unfortunately, I only made it through about half. My husband had to work, and I have yet to find a babysitter for my little sprout. The ladies at derby were nice enough to let me bring him, but it wasn’t not easy to focus. And I caught myself turning to peek at him every few minutes.
In the end, this was probably best. (Having to leave early, I mean.)
Some where between my first derby boot camp and the second, I wrenched a muscle in my thigh REALLY good. Isn’t it funny? Don’t even have to be on skates to bust something. Lol.

I knew when it happened it wasn’t going to be fun. I bent over backwards to get it back in derby condition before Monday, but it was no good. My first one knee fall, and the pain hit me pretty good.
I cannot begin to tell you how disappointing it is. I finally find the thing that I’ve needed for so long, and BAM! I’ve got to slow down, and take care of muscle’s. But it’s ok! Because I’ve learned some stuff.

1) Epsom salt = worth it’s weight in gold.
2) Ace bandages = not just for ankles!
3) Aspirin = my new best friend

Tips for noobs:
Stretch like your life depends on it. Before and after, daily in between work outs. Keep your muscles loose.
And, Fall like nobody is watching. (A little cheesy, but seriously… No one is judging you for falling. If anything there is a sense of pride. You fell and you got back up, way to go. Now do it again.)

That’s all I will post for this week. There is tons more… But I’ll pace myself. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

